Tuesday, January 22, 2008

Children's Book Awards Announced

The American Library Association announced the winners of the Caldecott Award for best illustrated children’s book, the Newbery Award for the author of the most distinguished contribution to American Literature for children, the Pura Belpré Award and many others on January 14th.
Winner of the Randolph Caldecott Medal for best illustrations:
The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick.
Caldecott Honor Books:
Henry’s Freedom Box: A True Story from the Underground Railroad, illustrated by Kadir Nelson, written by Ellen Levine.
First the Egg by Laura Vaccaro Seeger.
Knuffle Bunny Too: A Case of Mistaken Identity by Mo Willems.
Winner of the John Newbery Medal for most distinguished contribution:
Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village by Laura Amy Schlitz.
Newbery Honor Books:
Elijah of Buxton by Christopher Paul Curtis.
The Wednesday Wars by Gary D. Schmidt.
Feathers by Jacqueline Woodson.
Pura Belpré Author Award for Latino/Latina writer and illustrator whose work best portrays, affirms, and celebrates the Latino cultural experience:
The Poet Slave of Cuba: A Biography of Juan Francisco Manzano by Margarita Engle, illustrated by Sean Qualls.
Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for most distinguished book for beginning readers:
There Is a Bird on Your Head! by Mo Willems.
Sibert Medal for best informational book:
The Wall: Growing Up Behind the Iron Curtin by Peter Sís.